Off-Duty Employment Requests
Members of the police department are available for 'secondary' (off-duty) employment to private employers for traffic and/or police safety purposes. While working in this capacity, the police officers possess all statutory authorities and responsibilities as any sworn police officer and, while addressing the needs negotiated between the private employer and the town police department, he/she is still responsible to the authorities and directions of the police department.

Types of Services Provided

 > Traffic Direction - whether for schools, churches, construction companies or private businesses, the officer(s) will provide this safety-sensitive service in compliment to the normal traffic controls in the area

 > Property Safety - whether for a church, private business or shopping center, officers may perform this service in full uniform or in 'plain-clothes.'

 > Sporting Events - whether for traffic direction or property/event safety, officer(s) perform this service under the minimum staffing requirements dictated by the Secondary Employment Contract.

Contracting for Service

To inquire about contracting the assistance of a police officer for your event or business, contact our Secondary Employment Coordinator Sgt. David Ruby at: (704) 841-6755 or at  druby@matthewsnc.gov 

To review and/or complete an online Contract & Application, just click here; when completed & signed, send or deliver to our Secondary Employment Coordinator as described above.

     School Traffic
      Patrol Division

      Capt. Stason Tyrrell
      (704) 841-6746
      styrrell@matthewsnc.gov

      Sgt. Jamie Matthews
      Patrol Supervisor
      (704) 841-6762
      jmatthews@matthewsnc.gov

      Cpl. Lance Paugh
      Patrol Supervisor
      (704) 841-6750
      lpaugh@matthewsnc.gov 

      Sgt. David McGuirt
      Patrol Supervisor
      (704) 841-6735
      dmcguirt@matthewsnc.gov

      Cpl. James Flack
      Patrol Supervisor
      (704) 841-6756
      jflack@matthewsnc.gov

      Sgt. Jeff Troyer
      Patrol Supervisor
      (704) 841-6768
      jtroyer@matthewsnc.gov

      Cpl. Brian Leadem
      Patrol Supervisor
      (704) 841-6773
      bleadem@matthewsnc.gov

      Sgt. Fred Vaneekhoven
      Patrol Supervisor
      (704) 841-6790
      fvaneekhoven@matthewsnc.gov

      Cpl. Juan Velez
      Patrol Supervisor
      (704) 841-6777
      jvelez@matthewsnc.gov




       
       
       
       


      Town of Matthews, North Carolina

      CONTACT US

      Town of Matthews
      232 Matthews Station St.
      Matthews, NC 28105

      Phone (704) 847-4411
      Fax (704) 845-1964

      CONTACT LINKS

      Report a Concern
      Staff Directory
      Facilities


      Government Websites by MunicipalCMS

      Facebook Twitter YouTube  0